Yield Enhancement Network

AHDB supports the ADAS Yield Enhancement Network (YEN) initiative.

The Yield Enhancement Network (YEN) was set up by ADAS in 2012 and is now a well-known, collaborative industry initiative. The YEN is supported entirely by corporate sponsorship, subscriptions and self-help.

It is open to all organisations, agronomists, farmers and researchers. The principal aims of the YEN are to identify and support arable innovators, thus to drive understanding of yield determination and inspire initiatives for yield improvement across the industry.

Through AHDB and other research sponsors, the YEN is increasingly providing a platform for effective communication and synergy between farms, industry and academia.

YEN Awards 2019 - The Results

Farmers Voice: YEN Award Winners 2019

Learn more about the YEN

Who is involved in the YEN competition?

Sponsors of the Cereal YEN in 2019 were: ADAS, Adama, Agrimetrics, AgSpace, AHDB Cereals & Oilseeds, AgSpace, BASF, Bayer, Iteris, Hutchinsons, Lancrop Laboratories, Limagrain, Nabim, NFU, NIAB TAG, NRM, Rothamsted Research, SRUC, Syngenta, The Farming Forum and Yara.

Sponsors of the Oilseed YEN in 2019 were: ADAS, Adama, AgSpace, AHDB Cereals & Oilseeds, BASF, CF Fertilisers, DeKalb, DSV, Hutchinsons, Iteris, Lancrop Laboratories, Limagrain, NRM, RAGT, The Farming Forum and Yara. 

The YEN Wheat Quality Awards, sponsored by nabim, will be presented at the AHDB Milling Wheat Conference on Thursday 27th February 2020 at the Huntingdon Marriot Hotel.

For further information or to get involved, visit yen.adas.co.uk or email yen@adas.co.uk

YEN Wheat Quality Award 2020

Wheat quality in the spotlight

The ADAS Yield Enhancement Network (YEN) Wheat Quality Award winner for harvest 2019 was announced as James Perry of Aldburys Farm Contracting, Essex, whose entry was sponsored by AHDB. The awards, sponsored by nabim, recognise excellence and innovation in achieving high yield and quality in Group 1 milling wheats.

The YEN Wheat Quality Award winners are:

First Place: James Perry, Aldburys Farm Contracting, Essex.  Sponsor: AHDB

Second Place: Ian Rudge, Bedfordia Farms, Bedfordshire.  Sponsor: Hutchinsons

Third Place: Trevor Pierce, R Sternberg Farms, Kent.  Sponsor: Bayer

James’ entry yielded 12.6t/ha with a protein yield of 1.5t/ha. In the assessment of the entry it was noted that not only did this entry yield well, but high quality was seen in the grain through to the final loaf.”

James said, “We are a small farm, but have a large contracting portfolio. This means we can invest in up-to-date and large kit. We use a self-propelled 24 metre sprayer even though we only cover 300 acres a year on our own farm. When the time comes to put on fungicides or other applications, we can go at exactly the right time.

“This year we looked closely at the YEN report for any shortfalls on nutrients. We decided to use a different variety and this field had some farmyard manure applied to it. It was all about attention to detail and doing the right things on time.”

Teresa Meadows, AHDB Knowledge Exchange Manager, said: “AHDB is pleased to sponsor entries into the YEN each year. It is a great way to learn more about your crop, how to achieve more of your potential and, in this instance, learn more about how your management through the season can influence the final milling quality of the loaf. 

“James’ attention to detail gives consistently high-quality milling wheat for their local markets. It has been great to be able to share the learnings from their approach more widely to the benefit of the industry.”