Scottish seed grower joins AHDB Potatoes Board

Tuesday, 16 April 2019

Aberdeenshire seed grower Jim Cargill has been appointed as one of three new members of the AHDB Potatoes Board.

He began his three year term on 1 April, alongside two other newcomers – Somerset-based grower Chris Wilson and Alison Levett who has also joined as an independent board member. Jim is the second Scotland-based grower on the board; organic seed producer Andrew Skea joined in 2017, and Alistair Redpath steps down this year.

The AHDB Potatoes Board has 11 members, including Chair Sophie Churchill. As well as setting the strategy for potatoes it also approves annual budgets and activity plans.

A second generation farmer, Jim is based at Coldstream Farm, where he produces seed potatoes, cereals and daffodil bulbs. As well as growing potato varieties Cara, Atlantic and Burren for export, he also supplies the domestic market with Gemson and Markies.

Jim markets his seed through Grampian Growers, where he has also been a longstanding member of the board.

Jim is looking forward to working with the AHDB Potatoes Board to shape the organisation’s strategy, particularly in relation to seed and export activities.

He says: “I am here to find out how it all works, initially as an observer, but then as an active participant who will try and make a difference.

“I’ve always been involved in industry bodies, and I believe you need to understand how they work before you suggest changes. However as a seed producer and exporter I would like to see more of a focus on areas such as new markets.”

AHDB Board Chair Sophie Churchill says: “I’m delighted to welcome our three new members to AHDB Potatoes sector board. They will bring a wealth of experience at a crucial time in British agriculture and I’m looking forward to working with each of them in the comng years.

“I also want to pay tribute to our departing members, each of whom provided invaluable insight over the three years they were part of the board. I wish them all well in the future”.

The new board members replace those who reached the end of their tenure on 31 March. Those departing this year include: Herefordshire grower Bill Quan; Alistair Redpath, Chief Executive of Cygnet Potato Breeders Ltd, and Cornwall-based grower Reuben Collins.